Opera Index Vocal Competition

Opera Index, Inc. is a tax exempt corporation whose mission is to assist young singers at the early stages of their careers with cash awards.

The Major Awards are: $10,000; $7,500; $5,000; $4,000, $3,500, $3,000, and $2,500. Emerging Artist Awards are $2,000 each. Encouragement Awards are $1,000 each.

The 2015 Opera Index Vocal Competition will be held on October 13, 14, and 16 at the Lang Hall in Hunter College in New York City.

Download our 2015 Application.

2014 Opera Index Vocal Competition Winners

At the 2014 Opera Index Vocal Competition, ninety young singers were heard during the preliminary auditions and thirty during the final audition day. Prizes were given to fifteen young singers. The winners are showcased at our three major events.


The Lissner Charitable Fund Award - $10,000
Ryan Speedo Green, bass-baritone

The William H. Wells Founder's Award - $7,500
Benjamin Bliss, tenor

The Arthur E. Walters Memorial Award - $7,500
Andrew Stenson, tenor

The Opera Index/ The Lissner Charitable Fund Award - $7,500
Joo Won Kang, baritone

The Robert F. Crosby Memorial Award - $3,500
Hyesang Park, soprano

The Dr. Robert Campbell/Cesare Santeramo Award - $3,000
John Brancy, baritone

The Judges Award - $2,500
Marina Costa-Jackson, soprano


Michael Brandenburg, tenor

César Delgado, tenor

Daniel Noyola, bass-baritone

Underwritten by: Jane Shaulis & Joseph S. Gasperec


Michael Adams, baritone

André Courville, bass-baritone

Joe Eletto, baritone

Evan LeRoy Johnson, tenor

Josh Quinn, bass-baritone

Underwritten by: Maude Davis; Doris Keeley; Meche Kroop; Sachi Liebergesell

Opera Index, Inc.

PO Box 237153
Ansonia Station, NY NY 10023


Opera Index Officers

President: Jane Shaulis; Vice Presidents: Janet Stovin, Philip Hagemann; Recording Secretary: Stephen Phebus; Treasurer: Murray Rosenthal

Board of Directors

Ellen Godfrey, Philip Hagemann, Richard C. Kandel, John David Metcalfe, Mark Moorman, Stephen Phebus, Murray Rosenthal, Jane Shaulis, Robert Steiner, Janet Stovin, Jessie B. Walker. Claire Rosengarten, Emeritus

Advisory Board

Lucine Amara, Ken Benson, Elisabeth Carron, Stephen De Maio, Rosalind Elias, Cori Ellison, Elaine Malbin, Jane Marsh, Eric Owens, Eve Queler, Elinor Ross, Midge Woolsey.

Executive Director

Joseph S. Gasperec

links contact winners competititon events membership home