Opera Index Vocal Competition

Opera Index, Inc. is a tax exempt corporation whose mission is to assist young singers at the early stages of their careers with cash awards.

The Major Awards are: $10,000; $7,500; $5,000; $4,000, $3,500, $3,000, and $2,500. Emerging Artist Awards are $2,000 each. Encouragement Awards are $1,000 each.

The 2014 Opera Index Vocal Competition will be held on October 14, 15, and 17 at the Lang Hall in Hunter College in New York City.

Download our 2014 Application.

2013 Opera Index Vocal Competition Winners

At the 2014 Opera Index Vocal Competition, young singers were heard during the preliminary auditions and thirty during the final audition day. Prizes were given to sixteen young singers. The winners are showcased at our three major events.


The Lissner Charitable Fund Award - $10,000
Virginie Verrez, mezzo-soprano

The Opera Index Award - $10,000
Ying Fang, soprano

The William H. Wells Founder's Award - $7,500
Michele Angelini, tenor

The Arthur E. Walters Memorial Award - $5,000
Mingjie Lei, tenor

The Robert F. Crosby Memorial Award - $5,000
Yohan Yi, bass-baritone

The Board of Directors Award - $3,500
Sydney Mancasola, soprano

The Dr. Robert Campbell/Cesare Santeramo Award - $3,000
Musa Ngqungwana, baritone

The Annie Benoit Award - $2,500
Norman Garrett, baritone


Tracy Cox, soprano
Underwritten by: Jane Shaulis & Joseph S. Gasperec

Juan Josè de León, tenor
Underwritten by: Judge Jeanne Greene


Avery Amereau, mezzo-soprano

James Knight, tenor

Felicia Moore, soprano

Patrick O'Halloran, tenor

Nian Wang, mezzo-soprano

Underwritten by: Maude Davis; Doris Keeley; Mecha Kroop; Sachi Liebergesell; The Gerda Lissner Foundation, Inc.

Opera Index, Inc.

PO Box 237153
Ansonia Station, NY NY 10023


Opera Index Officers

President: Murray Rosenthal Vice Presidents: Janet Stovin, Philip Hagemann Secretary/Treasurer: Jane Shaulis

Board of Directors

Philip Hagemann, Richard C. Kandel, John David Metcalfe, Mark Moorman, Stephen Phebus, Claire Rosengarten, Murray Rosenthal, Cesare Santeramo, Jane Shaulis, Robert Steiner, Janet Stovin, Jessie B. Walker

Advisory Board

Lucine Amara, Ken Benson, Elisabeth Carron, Stephen De Maio, Rosalind Elias, Cori Ellison, Elaine Malbin, Jane Marsh, Eric Owens, Eve Queler, Elinor Ross, Midge Woolsey.

Executive Director

Joseph S. Gasperec

links contact winners competititon events membership home